The Winston-Salem Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (WSUAMPO) is the federally designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Winston-Salem Urbanized Area.  Federal legislation requires Urbanized Areas with populations larger than 50,000 to have an MPO, whose primary function is to carry out the transportation planning process among the member jurisdictions within its established planning area boundary.  The MPO is an organization consisting of the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT), Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) and its staff, and various agencies and units of local and State government participating in transportation planning for the area.


The Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) was founded in 1974 on February 20 after the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) sent a letter to the Winston Salem, City-County Planning Board (CCPB) designating them as the Lead Planning Agency (LPA). Later in 1991, the Winston-Salem Department of Transportation was formed and under took the role of LPA for the MPO.


The Winston Salem Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (WSUAMPO) main objective is to make continuous transportation improvements for all its member jurisdictions. This organization makes all modes of transportation a priority to improve transportation throughout this region whether it be freight, public, or traffic issues. By identifying existing transportation needs and analyzing existing conditions of roads, collection of data and trends it helps with planning future projects for the betterment of our community.      

Title VI Policy/Statement

It is the policy of the Winston-Salem Department of Transportation to ensure that no person shall, on the grounds of race, color, sex, age, national origin, or disability, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise subjected to discrimination under any program or activity as provided by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987, and any other related nondiscrimination Civil Rights laws and authorities.

For more information on our Title VI Program, please visit our Environmental Justices/Title VI Policy page.

What we do

As the lead transportation planning agency for the Winston-Salem Urban Area that includes Forsyth County, its municipalities and portions of Davidson, Davie, and Stokes Counties, the Department of Transportation develops and maintains a multimodal Transportation Plan. The planning process is open, inclusive, and encourages public participation in the overall development of the transportation system. Planning services include thoroughfare planning, bicycle and pedestrian facilities, improving air quality, small-area and neighborhood planning, traffic modeling and analysis, roadway corridor studies, regional planning, and transportation maps and data.

Winston-Salem Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Memorandum of Understanding.pdf

Member Jurisdictions


The Winston-Salem Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (WSUAMPO) consists of voting representatives from Forsyth, Stokes, Davie, and Davidson Counties.  

Forsyth County:  Winston-Salem, Bethania, Lewisville, Clemmons, Kernersville, Walketown, Rural Hall.

Stokes County:  King

Davie County:  Welcome

Davidson County:  Bermuda Run