Transportation Advisory Committee


The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) is composed of elected officials from Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, and Stokes Counties; the City of Winston-Salem; and the other MPO municipalities; non-elected officials from the City-County Planning Board, Winston-Salem Transit Authority, Smith Reynolds Airport Authority, the Federal Highway Administration and the NCDOT. The TAC serves as a forum for cooperative transportation planning and decision-making for the MPO. The TAC has the responsibility for keeping the governing boards informed of the status and requirements of the transportation planning process; assisting in the dissemination and clarification of decisions, inclinations and policies of the governing boards; and ensuring meaningful citizen participation in the transportation planning process.

Transportation Advisory Committee 2022 Roster (PDF)

Transportation Advisory Committee By-Laws (2014).pdf

  1. Members
  2. Alternates
  3. Non-Voting Members
  • Mike Horn, TAC Chairman • Mayor, Town of Lewisville
  • Denise D. AdamsMayor Pro Tem, City of Winston-Salem
  • John E. ByrumMayor, Town of Midway
  • Rick MorrisCommissioner, Stokes County
  • Allen JoinesMayor, City of Winston-Salem
  • Wesley HutchinsMayor Pro Tem, Town of Walkertown
  • Fleming El-Amin • Commissioner, Forsyth County
  • Eddie Horn • Councilman, Town of Rural Hall 
  • Robert Clark • Council Member, City of Winston-Salem
  • Benita FinneyCommissioner, Davie County
  • Rick Cross • Mayor, Town of Bermuda Run
  • Brent Rockett • Mayor, Town of Bethania
  • Mike Combest • Council Member, Village of Clemmons
  • Bill Apple Mayor Pro Tem, Town of Kernersville
  • Willie L. Clark, Jr.Board Member, Winston-Salem Transit Authority
  • Michael Lane • Council Member, City of King
  • Allen ToddMayor, Town of Wallburg
  • James ShoresCommissioner, Davidson County
  • Myron Marion •  Mayor, Village of Tobaccoville
  • Andrew Perkins Jr. • Member, North Carolina Board of Transportation

Meeting Information

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) and Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) meet bimonthly on the third Thursday or on an as-needed basis. All TAC meetings are held in the Winston-Salem Public Meeting Room, 5th Floor, Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building.

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) meeting dates for 2022 are as follows:

  • Tuesday, January 18 (Virtual)
  • Thursday, February 17  (Virtual)
  • Thursday, March 17  (Virtual)
  • Thursday, May 19 (Virtual)
  • Thursday, July 21 (VIRTUAL)
  • Thursday, September 15 (In Person, 2000 Lowery Street Suite 122)
  • Thursday, November 17 (Virtual)

Citizen Comments at TAC Meetings

Citizens are invited to provide comments on items that are before or could come before the Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC).

The comment period is held at the beginning of every TAC meeting. Each citizen has up to 3 minutes to speak and the total comment period is limited to 30 minutes.

Staff will have a sign-up sheet available immediately prior to any TAC meeting.  Citizens will speak in the order of sign-up.  

Parking is available: on the street (shared meter), in the surface lot north of City Hall (attendant), and in ground floor of the parking deck at 155 S. Church (shared meter). Please allow extra time to get to the meetings and to park during the B-40 closure project.

Please contact Kelly Garvin (336-747-6881; with questions.

Current TAC Agenda

The November 17, 2022 Meeting of the Transportation Advisory Committee is a virtual meeting. Link to join can be found on the agenda below.

November 17, 2022 Meeting Items:

Action Items

Information Items for Future Action

Information Only

Staff Reports

Cover Page, November 2022 Transportation Advisory Committee Book
  1. 2022
  2. 2021
  3. 2020
  4. 2019
  5. 2018
  6. 2017
  7. 2016