Visit our Fire Stations

The City of Winston-Salem has 20 fire stations strategically located throughout the city. The stations are located to provide maximum coverage with minimum response time. We currently have an average response time of under 4 minutes. Staffing at the various stations is determined by the number of apparatus that is assigned to that station.

Fire Station Map (JPG) Opens in new window


The city is divided into four fire districts/battalions. Each has a command unit with a battalion chief that oversees all fire department activity within their respective district. Each district has six or seven fire stations.

The map shows the fire districts and station locations across ward lines in the City of Winston-Station.


  • Battalion One: Stations 1, 7, 8, 15, 18
    • Square Mileage of Battalion 1's Territory: 29.62 square miles
  • Battalion Two: Stations 4, 5, 11, 17, 19
    • Square Mileage of Battalion 2's Territory: 39.67 square miles
  • Battalion Three: Stations 3, 9, 12, 14, 20
    • Square Mileage of Battalion 3's Territory: 33.01 square miles
  • Battalion Four: Stations 2, 6, 10, 13, 16
    • Square Mileage of Battalion 4's Territory: 32.41 square miles

Total Fire Territory Command: 134.72 square miles