South Ward: John C. Larson

  1. Council Member - John C. Larson
  2. About the South Ward
  3. Meeting Information

Council Member John C. LarsonContact Your Council Member

John C. Larson

Democrat, South Ward
448 Factory Row 
Winston-Salem, NC 27101 
Phone: 336-771-5176 (Office)

Email John C. Larson (

Vernetta DeVane

Community Assistance Liaison, South and Southwest Ward
Phone: 336-734-1253
Alternative Phone: 336-462-2421

Email Vernetta DeVane (

About John C. Larson

John C. Larson has been a Council Member since 2016.

Message from Your Council Member

As your Council Member, I will voice your concerns and opinions as well as fight for the well-being of citizens of the South Ward and the City of Winston-Salem. Therefore, I would like to hear from you so that I can better serve our community.

Profession / Vocation

  • Vice President Architectural Restoration Old Salem / Historian (Retired)

Professional & Community Associations

  • Vice Chair of the Public Safety Committee
  • Member of the Public Works Committee
  • Old Salem Area Security Council
  • Business 40 Design Committee
  • Keep Winston-Salem Beautiful
  • WSFC Historic Properties Commission
  • Creative Corridors Coalition
  • Wachiovia Historical Society
  • Southeast Gateway Planning Committee


  • Seminar for Historical Administration, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, 1998
  • Attingham Trust for the Study of Country Houses, Royal Oak Scholar-Britain, 1989
  • MA, University South Carolina-Applied History
  • The Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts Summer Institute, University of North Carolina-Greensboro (UNCG)
  • BA, University South Carolina-History


  • Montpelier Architectural Review Board
  • Maryland Senate Chamber Restoration Advisory Board
  • Poplar Forest Architectural Advisory Board
  • Mount Vernon Architectural Advisory Board
  • NC National Register Advisory Committee
  • Marion Covington Foundation Board: 2001 to 2005; 2009 to 2012
  • UNCG Public History Committee, Department of History UNCG Co-Instructor of Historic Building Technology Field School
  • Board, Vernacular Architecture Forum: 1987 to 1990; 1996 to 1999 Serving as President from 1999 to 2001 and 1st Vice President 2007 to 2009
  • UNCG Department of Interior Architecture Advisory Board, 2003 to 2009