Commission on Ending Homelessness


  • Monthly TBA


Method of Appointment 

The Commission is comprised of sixteen voting commissioners. Five commissioners are appointed by the City Council, upon the recommendation of the Mayor. Five commissioners are appointed by the County Commissioners. Five commissioners shall be nominated by the Operating Cabinet of the Continuum of Care and shall be recommended for appointment by the City. The Mayor and the Chairperson of the County Commissioners shall appoint the chairperson of the Commission.

In addition to the sixteen aforementioned appointed Commissioners, one elected City official and one elected County official shall be appointed as ex officio, non-voting members of the Commission.

Number of Members


Terms of Office 

Commissioners shall serve for three-year terms and are limited to two consecutive terms. The Commission initially will be comprised of members of the Ten Year Plan Commission on Homelessness. The remaining Commission seats shall be filled as described herein and those Commissioners shall serve three-year terms.

Chief Staff Person

Andrea Kurtz
Implementation Director
Phone: 336-721-9373

Resource Support Staff

City: Tim West
Planning/Developer Coordinator
Phone: 336-734-1305

County: Dan Kornelis
Housing Director
Phone: 336-703-2680

Current Membership - City Council Appointments

NameRace & GenderTermExpiration
Gary Gunderson (Baptist)White Male1November 2017
Jim Goodwin, Chair (BB&T)White Male2June 2020
Max Goelling, Operating Cabinet ChairWhite Male2January 2018
Alan K. Hodges (Hanes Brand)White Male2November 2017 Term expiration corrected
Vivian V. Joiner (Sweet Potatoes Restaurant)Black Female1January 2018
Paula Stephen (Landlord)White Female2November 2017

Current Membership - Forsyth County Appointments

NameRace & GenderTermExpiration
Daniel B. Anthony (Attorney)White Male1January 2018
Henry "Hank" Marsh (Daymark Recovery)White Male1January 2018
Jan D. Morgan (WSFCS)White Female1January 2018
Chad C. Nance (Camel City Dispatch)White Male2January 2018 

Serving more than 50% of an unexpired term (more than one year and seven months of term has been served)

John ThackerBlack Male1January 2019

Current Membership - Operating Cabinet Appointments

NameRace & GenderExpiration
Wanda Brendle-Moss (Homeless Caucus)White FemaleJanuary 2018
Ron Hairston (Consultant)Black MaleJanuary 2018
Lisa Hinson (CenterPoint)White FemaleJanuary 2018
Joetta Shepherd (Family Services)Black FemaleJanuary 2018

Current Membership - Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Members

NameRace & Gender
Molly Leight, City Council MemberWhite Female
Everette Witherspoon, Forsyth County CommissionerBlack Male

Authority for Creation 

The Commission was established by a resolution adopted by the Winston-Salem City Council on August 18, 2014, and by the Forsyth County Commissioners on September 8, 2014. The Commission was formed by amending the ordinance creating the Ten Year Plan Commission on Homelessness, which was established by a resolution adopted by the Winston-Salem City Council on May 15, 2006, and by the Forsyth County Commissioners on August 14, 2006.

Purpose / Function

The purpose of the Commission is to act as a governing body for collaborative planning and implementation of strategic initiatives and investments to end homelessness in Winston-Salem and Forsyth County.