Community Sustainability Program Committee


  • 5:00 p.m.
  • First Thursday of every other month
  • City Hall, Public Works Conference Room, 3rd Floor


Authority for Creation 

The authority for establishing the Community Sustainability Program Committee was created by a resolution adopted by the City Council on May 20, 2019, upon the recommendation by the Public Works Committee.

Method of Appointment 

Eleven members are appointed by the City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor. The Chairman of the Committee shall be appointed by the Mayor. The members of the committee shall be composed of individuals with the following skills or background: 

  • Architectural/building
  • Energy
  • Environmental
  • Education
  • Industrial
  • Small, medium and large business
  • Transportation

Number of Members


Terms of Office

Two years

Chief Staff Person

Helen Peplowski
Sustainability Program Director
Phone: 336-397-7929

Current Membership

NameRace & GenderTermExpiration
Amber Baker (North Ward)    Black Female1May 2023
Christy Robinson (Northwest Ward)White Female1May 2023
Stephanie FriedeHispanic Female1May 2022
Rajesh Kapileshwari (West Ward)Asian Male1May 2024
Allen Smart - Committee ChairWhite Male1May 2024
Leah Lavin (South Ward)White Female1May 2024
Sarah Pesek White Female1May 2022
Bodiford Stackhouse (Southeast Ward)Black Male1May 2024
Denise Terry (East Ward)Black Female1May 2023
Keyra Williams (Northeast Ward)Black Female1May 2022
Jordan Brewster (Southwest Ward)White Female1May 2023
Zebulon Carter BerryWhite Male1May 2024

Purpose / Function

The purpose of the Community Sustainability Program Committee is to review the City’s Local Action Plan and provide periodic reports, recommendations, and act as an advisory body to City Council with regard to greenhouse gas emissions and related sustainability issues.