What exactly is a local historic district?

A local historic district is an area designated by the governing board because it contains important architectural and historic resources. These districts are designated as part of the zoning ordinance in order to safeguard a valuable part of the community’s cultural heritage. In Forsyth County, there are two types of local historic districts:

  • Historic (H) Districts, i.e. Old Salem and Bethabara
  • Historic Overlay (HO) Districts, i.e. West End

Show All Answers

1. What is the difference between a Local Historic District and a National Register Historic District?
2. What exactly is a local historic district?
3. What are the major provisions of a local historic district ordinance?
4. What are design review standards?
5. How do I know if I need a Certificate of Appropriateness (COA)?
6. How is a local historic district designated?
7. What does it mean to own property in a local historic district?
8. What is required in a Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) application to the Commission?
9. Is there a way to deal with minor projects?
10. What about routine maintenance?
11. How long does it take to have projects reviewed and approved?
12. What happens if I begin work without a Certificate of Appropriateness (COA)?
13. Does the Historic Resources Commission require you to restore your property?