What is a Certified Local Government?

A local government can participate in this program when the State Historic Preservation Officer (SHPO) certifies that the local government has established its own historic preservation commission and a program meeting Federal and State standards. Certified Local Governments (CLGs) are eligible to apply for grants from the SHPO.

At least 10% of the annual Historic Preservation Fund grant to states under the National Historic Preservation Act must be distributed among CLGs. Grants can be used for activities promoting historic preservation, such as architectural surveys, National Register nominations, and design review standards.

Forsyth County, Winston-Salem, Kernersville, and Clemmons are all CLGs.

Show All Answers

1. What is the Forsyth County Historic Resources Commission?
2. When was the Historic Resources Commission created?
3. Who are the Historic Resources Commissioners?
4. What are the Historic Resources Commissioners' duties?
5. Who are the Historic Resources Commission’s staff?
6. What does the Historic Resources Commission’s staff do?
7. Where and when is the place and time of the Historic Resources Commission’s meetings?
8. What is a Certified Local Government?