Catrina A. Thompson

Title: Chief
Phone: 336-773-7700
Catrina A. Thompson

Catrina Thompson is the fifteenth Chief of Police for the City of Winston-Salem. She is a native of Detroit, Michigan, where she graduated from Wayne State University with a Bachelor's of Science Degree in Criminal Justice. Additionally, she also holds a Master's Degree in Public Administration from Appalachian State University.

Community Service
Chief Thompson is a member of New Zion Primitive Baptist Church and serves as the Immediate Past President of the Mental Health Association of Forsyth County Board of Directors; President of Kaleideum Board of Directors; member of United Way of Forsyth County and Senior Services Foundation Boards.

Awards & Recognition
In 2018, she received the Criminal Justice of the Year Award from the Ministers Conference of Winston-Salem and Vicinity. She was also recognized by Black Business Ink Magazine as one of the 50 Most Influential African Americans in the Piedmont Triad.

In her twenty-five years with the Winston-Salem Police Department, Thompson has served as the Assistant Chief in charge of the Investigative Services Bureau, which is the Command Bureau over detectives and school resource officers.

As Chief, she leads a department with 570 sworn officers, 173 civilian positions and an annual budget of $74.5 million.

She graduated from the Leadership Winston-Salem, Class of 2016, 2017 Public Executive Leadership Academy of the School of Government at University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, the West Point Leadership Program of Methodist University, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Law Enforcement Executive Leadership Association program.

Personal Life
She is married to Alonzo Thompson, a former Assistant Chief of Police with the Winston-Salem Police Department and current Chief of Police for the Spartanburg (South Carolina) Police Department. They have two children, Alyson and Christopher. 

Her Philosophy of Life: Shoot for the moon because even if you miss, you will land among the stars.

Return to Staff Directory